FBNYC NYFW Recap: Kanye West x Adidas Originals

image

So yesterday, I was able  to attend the anticipated #yeezy show held downtown in Soho.  I had no plans to go, because I had a meeting in the Financial District. Once that was rescheduled, a friend who works for Adidas Originals told my ass to run to get to the show, and it helped that it was 1 hour behind scheduale.

It was pandemonium outside, but I was able to get in way in the back. Whatever, good enough.

So let’s get to the show. My distaste for Kanye has grown over the years, but I kept an open mind with this collection. Once the show finally started fifty models all shapes, sizes, and races marched into the room. They were all posed as if they had gone through the rapture, and God did not choose them.  Very stoic, with body covering nylon. There were a lot of Army/ utilitarian influences, which I always like, but nothing awe inspiring. Kanye’s new track “Wolves” played in the background that had me nodding my head, while the clothes had me shaking my head in the pure nonsense of it all.

Here’s the thing, I saw three designers on that stage yesterday, Norma Kamali, a splash of Margiela, and Rick Owens.  There was no “genius”, which made this show even more cringe worthy.   I really want any black designer to succeed, but Kanye needs to understand he is not one. The Hypebeasts will eat this line up, so he’ll be okay.

image

2 thoughts on “FBNYC NYFW Recap: Kanye West x Adidas Originals

  1. ugh i completely agree. kanye is trying way too hard – but there’s not an ounce of originality. lucky that you got to go though! 😀 everybody was there 😉
    thesartorialcoquette.com
    instagram: the_ch1ara

    Like

Leave a Reply

