Where the Oscars Went Wrong

Hello ladies and gents. Its been a while since I was able to check in and say “Sup?”, and I apologize for that. I have acquired a new position at work that has all my free-time, but its a good thing. I will get into the new job title on a later date, but today is March 1 and I want to talk about the lack of diversity at the Oscars.

Yes, I know you were expecting me to shade and talk about my favorite red carpet looks, but truth be told. I wasn’t that impressed with the red carpet fashions this time around. I did love Lady Gag’s Brandon Maxwell white jumpsuit with attached train, but was more moved by her powerful performance of her Oscar nominated song, “Till It Happens To You”.

Chris Rock hosted the 83rd Oscars this past Sunday. And according to many social media outlets, left most Black people with a bad taste in their mouths after his opening monologue. Here ya go. So, as you can guess there were  more pressing issues this year.

Now, if you have been living under a Rock, pun intended, then you wouldn’t know what prompted the diversity brouhaha this year. Jada Pinkett Smith made comments about the lack of black nominees this year. I have attached video for receipts as well. Long story short, many believed the only reason she was upset was because her husband Will, $22 million per movie, Smith did not get a nomination for his latest silverscreen offering “Concussion”.

Ok, we get it. You were pissed that your husband didn’t get nominated, but there comes a time when one must be honest with one’s self.The film was not that great. Not as good as his last nominated film “Ali”. I am not discounting Jada’s frustration, but referencing a key point in Chris Rock’s speech ” We just need the same opportunity as  others.” This rings true in film and industries across the board. When you have minorities putting in ten times more effort and talent than their white counterparts, you have to wonder what is going on.

I’m not going to pretend like the the lack of blacks and other minorities being snubbed for a piece of heavy ass gold statue upset me. I could honestly careless, and the last time I went hard for the Academy Award nominees and movies was in 2014. Lupita Nyongo,  Jared Leto, and the movie “12 Years a Slave” walked away with high honors that night that were well deserved. Can we get back to that year?

Apparently a lot of Americans tuned out the four hour show because it was the lowest viewership in 8 years. Does it correlate with the lact of diversity from the nominess? Chris Rock’s speech, or the fact that the movies this year were just as dry as the audience? thoughts?

 

 

Leave a Reply

