FBNYC Retail: The Suffrage of Fashion Design Part 1

It has been a while since I have written about anything remotely focused to retail on this here blog. And it made me pause ( literally in the middle of a marketing meeting a few weeks back) as to why. The nuts and bolts of the industry I am a slave to, ahem fashion, is retail. My colleagues and I strive to design and produce beautiful clothes for our public, but they, as in clothes must sell so we can continue to provide that service. Well, that’s when it gets a lil tricky. 

If you follow me on the “Gram” you already know I work in design for a major ecomerce  plus-size brand. And I have witnessed firsthand how trying to translate a trend into the right fit, fabrics, and price point can get difficult. Across all markets women’s retail  has either fallen or stayed relatively flat quarter after quarter. Is it bad fit? Bad Marketing? Not understanding their customers? Brand not able to keep up with the ever changing trends effectively? Well, to answer your question its all of the above. 

Fast fashion giant stores such as Zara and H&M are not going anywhere, and have turned into the destination of millions of American women have chosen to shop.  The clothes are not only cost-effective, but stays on trend. A win-win for those customers right? The popularity of these stores and the ever growing online market has forced brands to change their tune on how they are selling clothing. 

I think it’s going to take a little bit of trial and error and , gasp, thinking out of the box for brands to provide beautiful clothing that customers deserve and expect. I would like to continue to follow up on this topic, because my brand is going through the same thing regarding low sales, except, athleisure.  Go figure. 

Follow me on this series here and on Instagram @ fashionblastNYC 

Leave a Reply

