FBNYC Travel: Tulum, Mexico

That moment when you are able to scratch off a city on your bucket list is a great feeling. I am proud to say I finally got a chance to go to the trendy Mexican beach city located one hour outside of Cancun. I didn’t go solo-dolo, my good friend tagged along with me for our first friend trip together. We were able to not only soak up the sun (whew it was hot), but also the Mexican culture.

We packed our bags and flew out of JFK at 6 am. This was also the day The Idiot in Office officiated the Travel Ban. Let’s just say we were happy to get out of NYC for our five day trip. We flew with Interjet that got us into Cancun Airport by 10am. We went through security pretty fast then connected with our complimentary taxi to the resort. The trip took only fifty minutes to get to the hotel, no traffic.

In cars you are wondering we booked a room with Grand Bahia Principe Tulum which is an all inclusive resort. This is a great option if you want to eat and drink as much as you want. Score. Once we got there we were not aware that this resort actually had three other hotels on the property, so we snuck in and out of the more expensive one throughout our stay. We live on the edge like that.

Our first couple of days was filled with swimming in the numerous pools, enjoying the private beaches, and eating. I got a little sick on the second day, but was able to feel better for our night out in Playa Del Carmen. About a twenty-five minute cab ride from our resort and $60 round-trip fare.

We got to enjoy nightlife in Mexico that was similar to New York. The only problem was that most of the clubs, that looked lit, were charging $4o per person.

In Iyanla Vanzant fashion “ Not on my WATCH!”

Instead we found an equally “lit” free entry club and danced the night away until around 3 am then headed back to the resort. My heels in my hands.

The best part for me during this trip was going on an all-day tour though Chichen-Itza, Yucatan the day before we were to fly back to New York. For $75 per person we got to discover the ruins, swim in a sinkhole, and walk through the oldest church located in colonial Mexico. The tour included everything I have been looking forward to visiting for a long time. I am humbled and blessed to be able to visit these amazing places that the locals feel very proud and protective of. Once we got back to the hotel it was time to finishing packing to head back to the airport the following morning. Tear.

In closing my first trip to Tulum was beautiful, fun, and satisfying to say the least. Taking the time to rejuvenate my mind and spirit while exploring this city’s culture was an experience I will hold dear to me forever. I hope to visit again soon.

IMG_9958.JPG

FullSizeRender.jpg

 

IMG_0029.JPG

IMG_0012.JPG

Leave a Reply

