When A Creative Pauses

Some have wondered where I have been and why I have not been active on the blog. Shoutout to those who continue to support via Instagram @fashionblastnyc, you guys motivate me everyday.  Now back to where I have been hiding. I haven’t been hiding necessarily, but been focused with my current job. For those who don’t know I work at a women’s ready wear e commerce site. I am the Cad Designer for two of the brands’ biggest growing collections. A huge turn from just just designing. I must interact with very different brands that have different market and demographic needs. It has been rather different  to say the least.

My career so far has been filled with chapters of ups, downs and more downs. I do feel like I am finally at a point where I am convinced the bad times were there for a reason though. It forced me to learn and adapt better in this ever-changing industry. Lessons I am grateful to have obtained along the way, which in turn has allowed me to grow so much as a designer.

Far too long I have endured struggles within the fashion industry and most importantly myself when in came to being confident in my creativity.  Accepting to be honest with myself and truly not give a fuck about others opinions was a journey. Self work was needed, and thank goodness I decided to be kind to myself. I stopped drawing (eek), designing (wtf?), and writing. Shit got real. I just stopped. Something that needed to be done, no it had to be done. I had to finally take care of Danielle spiritually, emotionally and physically. Living in New York and working in fashion is stress times twenty, and as much as I hate to admit was beginning to take its toll on my creativity and most importantly me.

I felt “broken”. Designs and writing subjects were not coming to me as frequently. I felt lost, and didn’t know what that meant. While it seemed like of all my personal creative ideas were disappearing I am excelling at work. Yay me.  I have taken on bigger roles in my company, I received a raise, new job title, I am getting praise from upper management for my work ethic and creatively. That’s great, but it still felt like I was still missing.

For those creatives out there who feel like, you can’t seem to connect with your art as easily. Don’t beat yourself up over it. We all deserve to pause and really dig deep within ourselves to find out why we are closing ourselves off to what comes naturally to us. Be patient with yourself, that ahah  moment will reappear when you least expect it. And when it does, do not hesitate to react to it. With that said. I am back and not going anywhere.

 

fashionblastnyc

Leave a comment